DejaOffice PC CRM - How to Set Up a Multi-User Database

From CompanionLink Support
Jump to: navigation, search

DejaOffice PC CRM works Great as a Multi-User database.

Multiuser1.png

You can make a multi-user database using DejaCloud Sync, with each PC having it's own local database. With this model, each PC works independently, and DejaCloud will synchronize all changes to the other independent databases. This works well for small offices that share exactly the same data: (Same Calendar and Contact list).

More commonly, an office may have 2-20 people sharing a single data file. In this case, the file is stored on a shared network drive. Each user will install DPC Pro and then connect their local computer to the shared data file. Each user will set a user login. The user login dictates their own personal calendar and task list. Commonly in this case, the contacts table is shared for all users. Each user can also have private data that no one else can see.

Currently we do not know how many users can share a single file. We have sites with five users working fine. The database is SQLite which uses whole table locking. So we anticipate there is a relationship between table size and user performance. We anticipate that for 10,000 contacts and 5 users the performance will be fine, but with 200,000 records and 20 users there may be performance issues. Over time, we hope to support MySQL and record level locking. This development is slated for mid-year 2020.


Create the Database and Import the initial data set

After installing DejaOffice PC CRM use the Setup Wizard and select a Data Source to import the initial data set. For help with data source settings, Click Here for our Source specific settings guide.

Register the Multi-User version of DejaOffice PC CRM

To use Multi-User Mode, you will need the DejaOffice PC CRM Professional version. You can find the installer for this version on our Downloads Page.

  1. Once you have installed DejaOffice PC CRM Pro, open the porgram, select Settings, and Registration.
  2. Enter your Registration info (Name and Email) and click Verify.
  3. Once registered, it will give you a user count.


Moving your DejaOffice PC CRM database to a Network drive

Placing your DejaOffice PC CRM database file on a Network drive allows access to the database from connected machine.

  1. Open DejaOffice PC CRM, select Settings, and Database Settings.
  2. Select "Move" option.
  3. Using the browser, navigate to the Network Drive and select a folder.
  4. Click Ok
  • Note: The folder you select on the Network Drive must be empty.

Setting up Users

  1. Open DPC, select Settings and Database Settings.
  2. Click ☑ Enable Multi-User
  3. Click ☑ to Enable default owner to current user
Userman.png
  1. Click User Management
  2. Add entries for each of your database users.

Reassigning Records

If you have imported from a database that does not contain "User" field. You can reassign records to a selected user.

  1. Open DPC, select Settings and Database Settings.
  2. Select User Management.
  3. Select the Unassigned user and click Reassign Records option.
  4. Select the User to reassign the records to and the data types to assign.


This option can also be used to quickly reassign the data from a user that will no longer be accessing the database.

Using a Local Install of DejaOffice PC CRM to access a Network Database

  1. For each user on your system, install DejaOffice PC CRM Pro on their Local PC's, and Register (See the Registration steps above).
  2. Once registered, open DejaOffice PC CRM, select Settings, and Database Settings.
  3. Select the "Open" option.
  4. Using the browser, navigate to the Network Drive and select a folder.
  5. Click Ok. After a few moments the Database from the Network Drive will be loaded.


Using DPC Pro with Multiple Users

After creating a multiple users in DPC Pro, each Contact, Calendar or Tasks can be assigned to their user ID. To set a DejaOffice PC CRM record to a specific user, when Creating\Editing an event, select the Owner field. Each user will appear in the drop down.

Once records are assigned to an Owner\User, you will be able to set filters in each data set to display specific User(s) records. You can filter based on the following:

  1. All Records marked "All Users"
  2. All records where you are the owner.
  3. Records for other users if you have the Calendar option set for it.
  • Note: You will NOT be able to see records for another User marked Private.

To access the user Filter in any DPC Data set, select the 3 bars in the top right, select "Users" and select the users you want to display in your local DPC.

Set up Android/iPhone Sync for each User

Please note - changing User ID name, or changing to Multi-User mode will invalidate previously set up sync profiles. You will need edit each profile to reset the required User Id using the Users Tab in the Sync settings.

After setting up Multi-User mode and creating Users. In the Sync settings find the "Users" Tab, here you can specific what user is set to sync from DPC in each sync profile.

If the DPC database is set up to a central location that all users access, you will need CompanionLink Professional controlling the sync for its ability to create up to Five unique sync Profiles.