Configuring Palm Desktop

From CompanionLink Support
Jump to: navigation, search


Configuring Palm Desktop

CL8PDT1.png

To configure your PIM in your CompanionLink setup select Settings under Palm Desktop:














User ID

CL8PDT22.png
1. In this field you will select the User ID associated with the correct Palm Desktop account.

















Applications

CL8PDT33.png
  1. Data Types to Sync - This option allows you to select which data types to synchronize. (i.e. Address Book, Date Book, To Do's, Memos)
  2. Sync Directions - This option allows you to set the sync direction. (i.e. Palm Desktop to Device; Device to Palm Desktop; Sync both ways)
  3. Wipe Options - This option will wipe/delete all the Device data first, then reload the Device using Palm Desktop Data.
  4. Deletion Preferences - This option allows you to choose a Primary Database for deletions.
  • If you select Palm as your primary database, and you delete content on your device the content would remain in Palm.
  • If you select the Device as the Primary Database, and you delete content on your Palm Desktop the content would remain in the Device.
  • If you select Records Deleted in Either will be synchronized, content deleted in either Palm Desktop or the Device will be deleted on the other side.
Note - By default this option is set as "Palm Desktop is primary..." which will prevent the sync from deleting any items deleted on the device in Palm Desktop. This is usually recommended, to protect the PC database from deletions. New and/or modified records will still synchronize. You can change the settings to synchronize deleted records in both directions if desired.
Note - Always use caution with any wipe option. We always recommend you have a copy of your data backed up.

Finishing your Configuration

Once you have navigated through each of the tabs simply select OK to save your settings.