Synchronizing DejaOffice with the Apple applications

From CompanionLink Support
Jump to: navigation, search

DejaOffice stores data in a separate database than the Apple contacts and calendar applications that came with the device. You can synchronize DejaOffice with the Apple applications, though. Doing so allows you to utilize features that integrate only with the Apple application - caller I.D., for example.

Enabling the synchronization between DejaOffice and the Apple Applications

To turn on the synchronization between DejaOffice and the Apple contact or calendar applications, open DejaOffice, go to Settings > Sync > Tap to select 'Sync with Apple Contacts (Calendar)'.

Selecting an Apple account

The Apple contact and calendar applications allow you to have multiple accounts - some that can synchronize to and from the DejaOffice. DejaOffice has to pick one of these to read & synchronize to.

This setting is located in DejaOffice Settings > Sync > Under 'Sync with Apple Contacts (Calendar)', tap Sync Settings,and also in the Setup Wizard.

DejaOffice will only sync with a single native account. The local "On my iPhone" account is the default, and is recommended.

If you do not see all your data after enabling sync with native, make sure you have the correct account set to display.

Synchronizing new records from the Apple contact and calendar applications to DejaOffice

When you create a new contact or calendar record in the Apple contact application, the contact must be assigned to the account selected in DejaOffice.

When does the native sync run?

The sync will run in the background after closing/opening DejaOffice. The sync will perform differently depending on your device and OS:

-Newer iOS 4 devices (excluding iPhone 3G/iPod Touch 2G):When DejaOffice is opened, contacts changes sync from native to DejaOffice. When DejaOffice closes any changes made in DejaOffice will sync to native

-All iOS 3 devices (and iPhone 3G/iPod Touch 2G w/ iOS 4): When DejaOffice is opened, contacts changes sync from native to DejaOffice. No changes are synced with DejaOffice closes.